Scott Pilgrim = Awesome

I was going to write something about how Stardust might be the Princess Bride of the 21st Century, but then got distracted by other stuff and, oh wait… it’s probably a bit rubbish to write about writing, right? Huff! Hang on then…

No one likes a half rave about something. But sometimes a half rave is the best I can do (actually many people would be shocked I can even manage that), so here goes…

Ashamed as I am to admit it, I’ve been using movies production slates as a way to get into great comic books lately. This is because I am a) too lazy to keep abuzz of the best comics and b) more likely to see what’s in development on IMDB than actually read any kind of blog about comics. There’s really no good reason why this would be. I just don’t know any good comics sites, and it’s not like it’s my whole world or anything. God! Give me a break will you?

Anyway, my latest cool “find” (smirk) is/are the Scott Pilgrim comics (Incidentally, these are being made into a film by Edgar Wright and starring Michael Cera).

The first book, Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life is just superb, and while books two and three are OK, the fourth and fifth books are back on great form (not book one great, but still worth checking out).

I won’t go on about the story. You can get that from the first paragraph of wikipedia. This is more about why you should read them. Yes, I’m that pompous.

For me, the charm of the books is basically that everyone around Scott has pretty much grown up into proper twentysomethings, but Scott is still a teenager at heart, and his innate sense of childish glee permeates his entire outlook. It’s this glee, and Scott’s general inability to grasp simple concepts immediately that makes him so loveable.

He also reminds me of me (a little bit), in that he’s crap at remembering to do stuff, he’s a bit slow to process developments, he’s rubbish at planning things, and is easily distracted. I’m mostly accused of being dour and grumpy, and occasionally I am full of joy, and this surprises people. This feels very Scott Pilgrim (substituting grumpiness with perpetual confusion)

Now that I think about it, the books remind me a bit of the cell-shaded look of Legend Of Zelda: Wind Waker. They’re manga cute, with brilliantly laid out panelling. They’re peppered with all kinds of nerdy gaming references (eg, when Scott achieves any kind of personal progression, he levels up, RPG style), and they’re full of great, snarky asides.

And yet, this is a half rave. Mainly because the middle of the story so far is a bit saggy and confusing. That said, it’s now getting great again, as if O’Malley needed that middle section to plot everything out, establish characters, and has settled into focussing again on what makes this comic great (Oh, wait, hmm… maybe I should read what’s left before posting. Erm… oh I dunno!).

So yes! If you like funny, slightly nerdy comics about love, gaming and playing in bands, or if you like being able to say “Oh yeah, I’ve not seen it yet, but I’ve read the comic…” then check out these books. I whole-half-heartedly* recommend them!

*Average number of hearts could go up as well as down.

3 comments

  1. I’d just like to say, having re-read book 2, it’s much better than I first thought. It’s still difficult to tell some characters apart sometimes though (Kim Pine, Lisa, even Ramona).

Leave a Reply

